Our Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee (MSAC) is comprised of dedicated volunteers from across Canada who generously share their expertise in neuromuscular disorders. Members include physicians, neurologists, scientists and clinician-researchers, as well as patient and family representatives. Together, they represent various perspectives from the health professional and patient communities.

The Committee provides strategic advice and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors on research policy, granting programs and funding. That input plays a crucial role in ensuring that Muscular Dystrophy Canada’s research program is dedicated to scientific excellence and ensuring that we leverage our investments by continuing to use granting processes that are transparent and efficient.

Committee Members

  • Dr. Phillip Gardiner (Chair)
  • Dr. Craig Campbell
  • Debra Chiabai
  • Dr. Ronald Cohn
  • Dr. James Dowling
  • Dr. Cynthia Gagnon
  • Elizabeth Ivey
  • Dr. Lawrence Korngut
  • Dr. Hugh McMillan
  • Jonathan Mesiano-Crookston
  • Dr. Maryam Oskoui
  • Dr. Robin Parks
  • Dr. Toshifumi Yokota
  • Kerry Zado